By: Rita DuChateau

At a distinctive Might 19 system, the Rotary Club of Estes Park presented scholarships to 11 learners help them attain their article-substantial faculty instructional plans. Invoice Solms, Rotary Club of Estes Park President, Doug Mann, 2019-20 club president, and Anne Slack, Scholarship Committee Chairperson, offered the awards. The scholarships totaled $42,500 and depict the club’s custom of area assist for schooling.

The Rotary Club of Estes Park raises money for scholarships in quite a few techniques, including the Once-a-year Rotary Golfing Tournament for Scholarships, the Shred-a-Thon, and members’ donations. In addition, memorial scholarship resources honor previous club members’ lives and passions.

The 2021 scholarship recipients involve:

Meila Igel, who will attend the Colorado School of Mines, Isabella Fanucchi, who will show up at the University of Minnesota -Twin Metropolitan areas, and Ellie Bergsten, who will attend Concordia Higher education, Moorehead, MN, were being named recipients of the Rotary Club of Estes Park Educational Scholarships. These awards offer just about every pupil with $2,000 for every calendar year for 4 yrs and are provided on the basis of academic achievement and promise, routines, and citizenship.

Rachel Calvin, who will attend Fort Hays Condition University, gained the Rotary Club of Estes Park Roger M. Thorp Memorial Scholarship. It is a 4-12 months scholarship of $1000/year for a university student interested in architecture or interior style.

Alexander Henderson, who will show up at Front Vary Community Higher education, obtained the Rotary Club of Estes Park Carver Relatives Vocational Scholarship. It is a two-12 months scholarship of $1,000/yr for a scholar attending a vocational school, neighborhood higher education, or a two-yr complex program.

Ruth Walker, who will go to York College or university, earned the Rotary Club of Estes Park Lynn Coffman Scholarship. It offers $1,500 for one particular yr to a scholar graduating from Estes Park Substantial College who is scheduling to main in business or associated disciplines.

Lucas Pearson, who will attend Belmont in Nashville, obtained the Rotary Club of Estes Park Ron L. Kuhns Memorial Scholarship. It is a $1,500 award offered to a college student who possesses a passion and an aptitude for a special area of examine.

Cole Murray, who will go to the University of Wyoming, attained the Rotary Club of Estes Park Bob Brunson and Roger Thorp Memorial Scholarship. This is a $4,000 scholarship which provides $2,000 for every yr to a student who is pursuing a vocational or non-classic field of review.

Bradon Moore, who will go to Nebraska Wesleyan College, and Ethan Hill, who will attend Colorado Northwestern Group Higher education, acquired the Rotary Club of Estes Park Lee and Alice Hagemeister Memorial Scholarships. Just about every will acquire $1,500.

Jana Coop, who will go to Colorado Mesa College, received the Rotary Club of Estes Park Stanley Lodge Scholarship. This $2,500 award is for a pupil graduating from Estes Park High School who is preparing to key in hotel and/or restaurant management, function planning or a wellness-connected subject.

The Rotary Club of Estes Park’s Scholarship Committee opinions all college student programs, essays and letters of suggestion in a approach that can take almost a thirty day period. The committee then interviews many applicants for every single scholarship in advance of earning closing conclusions.

“I am grateful for the time and viewpoints invested by Bruce Brown, Gregg Jurgens, Jim Whiteneck, Man Van der Werf, Pete Sumey and Verlene Thorp in analyzing learners,” reported Anne Slack. “And, final but not least, Doug Mann and Invoice Solms for their wonderful job presenting the awards.”

Scholars are invited to satisfy Rotary Club of Estes Park associates by attending meetings as their busy schedules allow.

Scholars and presenters gathered for a photo next the awards ceremony. From left, Doug Mann (Rotary Club 2019-20 President), Ruth Walker, Rachel Calvin, Jana Coop, Meila Igel, Braden Moore, Alex Henderson, Ethan Hill, Lucas Pearson, Ellie Bergsten, Isabella Fanucchi and Bill Solms (Rotary 2020-21 President). Not pictured: Cole Murray.

By Harriet